Peptide telehealth pricing explained: what the advertised price leaves out
A peptide telehealth ad usually leads with one number — "$138/month," "$99 to start." That number is rarely the total. Telehealth pricing for peptides and GLP-1 drugs is structured in pieces, and which pieces are included in the headline figure varies by company, sometimes deliberately. Understanding the structure — not just shopping the sticker price — is what actually protects you from an unpleasant second bill.
The two-part structure almost nobody advertises clearly
Nearly every legitimate peptide telehealth program bills two things separately: a membership or platform fee, which pays for access to a licensed clinician and the company's infrastructure, and the medication itself, which is a pharmacy cost that scales with the specific peptide, dose, and quantity prescribed. On top of that, some programs charge a one-time or recurring lab-work fee to confirm eligibility, and a separate initial consultation fee before a clinician can prescribe anything at all.
None of that is inherently deceptive — a clinician's time and a pharmacy's compounding costs are real expenses, and unbundling them is normal in healthcare billing generally. The problem is when a company advertises only the smallest of those pieces as if it were the whole price.
What the FTC caught one telehealth company doing
In July 2025, the Federal Trade Commission settled charges against Southern Health Solutions, doing business as NextMed, over exactly this pattern. NextMed sold GLP-1 weight-loss telehealth memberships "at an advertised monthly price, typically at $138 or $188," without adequately disclosing that the price "did not include the cost of the actual GLP-1 drug, the cost of the lab work required to determine eligibility for such drugs, or the cost of the consultation with a medical provider that was necessary to obtain a prescription."1
The complaint also found that NextMed's membership required a 12-month commitment with early termination fees that weren't clearly disclosed, and that customers who tried to cancel or get refunds ran into a customer-service operation too understaffed to process their requests in a reasonable time.1
"Consumers who signed up for NextMed's programs faced significant unexpected costs and the company's customer service failures prevented consumers from cancelling or getting a refund."
— Christopher Mufarrige, Director, FTC Bureau of Consumer Protection1
NextMed and its principals agreed to pay $150,000 toward consumer refunds, and the consent order now bars them from misrepresenting what a price includes, how billing timing works, or a customer's cancellation and refund rights — and requires them to get informed consent before charging anyone at all.1 That last requirement is worth sitting with: informed consent to being billed is not a courtesy a telehealth company extends, it's something a federal consent order had to force one to start doing.
The fee components, laid out
| Fee component | What it actually pays for | Red flag |
|---|---|---|
| Membership / platform fee | Access to a clinician and the company's app or portal | Advertised alone as "the price" |
| Medication cost | The peptide or GLP-1 itself, dispensed by a licensed pharmacy | Not disclosed until after you've signed up |
| Lab work | Bloodwork required to confirm eligibility for prescribing | Required but priced as "starting at" |
| Initial consult | The clinician visit needed to get a prescription at all | Bundled into "free" and clawed back elsewhere |
| Commitment term / early termination | A minimum enrollment length with a cancellation penalty | Not stated until you try to cancel |
Table describes the components the FTC's NextMed complaint identified as under-disclosed; not every telehealth provider structures pricing this way or has been accused of hiding these costs.
The other half of the pricing problem: what you're actually being sold
A price only means something if you know what it's buying. In March 2026, the FDA issued warning letters to 30 telehealth companies for marketing compounded GLP-1 products with claims that implied the drugs were FDA-approved or interchangeable with brand-name versions, and for advertising compounded drugs under the telehealth company's own branding in a way that obscured who actually compounded them.2 FDA Commissioner Marty Makary framed it as part of a sustained crackdown:
"We are paying close attention to misleading claims being made by telehealth and pharma companies across all media platforms — and taking swift action."
— Marty Makary, M.D., M.P.H., FDA Commissioner2
One of the 30 cases, a warning letter sent to a company called MEDVi, cited claims on its website stating its compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide products had the "same active ingredient as Wegovy® and Ozempic®" and "same active ingredient as Mounjaro® and Zepbound®" — language the FDA found misleading because compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and the site's own branding on the product label falsely implied MEDVi itself had compounded it.3 The agency noted it has sent more letters to telehealth and pharmaceutical companies over misleading direct-to-consumer ads in the past six months than in the entire preceding decade.2
Why this matters for pricing specifically: a company that overstates what its compounded product is can also understate what it costs, because both are marketing claims competing for the same click. A price that looks unusually low relative to the concierge-clinic and telehealth ranges reported elsewhere is worth checking against what, exactly, is being dispensed and by whom — see how much do peptides cost for the broader price landscape and how much does semaglutide cost for GLP-1-specific figures.
A short checklist before you enter a card number
- Does the quoted price include the medication, or only the membership/platform fee?
- Is lab work required, and is its cost stated in dollars rather than "varies"?
- Is there a minimum commitment period, and what's the early termination fee?
- Is the cancellation and refund process described before you pay, not after?
- Does the site name the actual compounding pharmacy, or only its own brand on the label?
A company that can answer all five before you've entered payment information is behaving the way the FTC's consent order now requires NextMed to behave. A company that defers most of these to "after your consultation" is asking you to commit before you know the total.
Where telehealth sits in the wider cost picture
Telehealth is one channel among several, and it isn't the cheapest or the most expensive by definition — it depends entirely on which fees a given program bundles or unbundles. For how telehealth pricing compares to concierge wellness clinics, membership longevity clinics, and unregulated "research use only" vendors side by side, see peptide clinic cost comparison. For what licensed telehealth actually buys you in oversight terms compared to an RUO vendor, see telehealth vs. research-use-only vendors. And because most wellness peptides aren't FDA-approved for the uses they're marketed for, insurance typically isn't part of the equation either — see does insurance cover peptide therapy.
The pattern across all of this reporting is consistent: the number in the ad is the smallest true cost a company can legally show you, not necessarily the number you'll actually pay. Reading past the headline price — into what's itemized, what's deferred, and what's required — is the whole exercise.
Sources
- Federal Trade Commission — "FTC Takes Action Against Telemedicine Firm NextMed Over Charges It Used Misleading Prices, Fake Reviews, and Deceptive Weight Loss Claims to Sell GLP-1 Weight-Loss Programs," July 2025.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration — "FDA Warns 30 Telehealth Companies Against Illegal Marketing of Compounded GLP-1s," March 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration — Warning Letter to MEDVi, LLC dba MEDVi, MARCS-CMS 721455, February 20, 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration — "FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize," updated April 2026.